Slut =/= Asking for Rape

I’ve been struggling to blog lately, and this may not meet my personal standards, but I found a cause so excellent I had to plug it, and hope folks will get involved.

I follow LoreleiMission of Bedroom Bondage on twitter, and she said (paraphrasing) “if a Slutwalk comes to Los Angeles, I will go.” Curious, I asked her what it was.

So in Toronto, a police official vocalized the thought, “people wishing to avoid sexual assault shouldn’t dress like sluts.” What’s resulted in the months since is the start of an annual protest in Toronto, and what they’re calling “Satellite Protests” in other parts of the world.

I thought to myself, “oh yes, I definitely want to take part in this. Wonder if it’s happening in Sacramento?”

Nope.

“Not surprised. Though, it HAS to be happening in Frisco!”

Not officially.

“…Where in California then?”

Not near me, in short.

I’ve decided I’m going to change that. I’m gonna do some planning and thinking and talking to activist groups in the next few days and see if I can get some support, then e-mail the Slutwalk organizers and see if we can make it all official and junk.

SO, if you live near the Sacramento area and would like to be involved, or want to impart some advice one slut walker to another, throw me an e-mail at stefanivonne@gmail.com

If you want more information on this protest, go to Slutwalk Toronto

And finally, if you want to read an article that makes me want to slam my head into hard surfaces, check out These Two Women Who Think We Should Not Be Fighting to be Called “Slut” and Thus Completely Missing The Point of the Protests.

~ by Stefani Vonne on 05/08/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
