SF Pride, Part Three: Experiencing True Acceptance

As I’ve touched on briefly, I live in a place that isn’t really gay friendly. I was going to argue that it wasn’t necessarily homophobic, but then I had a discussion with my ex (a bisexual man) after my last blog where he said, “if you were a gay man here, you’d be more willing to use homophobic.The men are either gay guys who hang out with other gay guys, or straight guys who want to beat up the gay guys.”

There isn’t really a community that helps with that either, and I’m wondering how my personal involvement could help fix things. If my personal involvement could help fix things.

Yeah, we have Sac Pride. It costs ten bucks to get in and it’s a non-glorified trade show. “Hi, we’re State Farm, and we like gays. Because they’re money is just as green as straight money. …Buy our insurance plzthnxbye’mo.” It isn’t proud, it isn’t unified.

Compare to SF Pride. The Pride, as far as I’m concerned. Making money was an added benefit, but definitely not the attention; because while getting into clubs was an option, there were raves on the street. While stopping in for food somewhere was an option, hot dogs were sold on the street. While drinking in clubs or ordering a beer at a restaurant was preferred, the bag check went as far as “you don’t have alcohol in there right? Ok, be good!”

I missed the gay pride parade, but I did get to experience a cooler parade. The march from the park to Castro, and it was the moment that clicked together what I knew intellectually and what I felt. Hey! There are people in this world like me! Having peers is not a pipe dream! I am marching here with them right now, and while we don’t know each others names, we are family. People hold hands, regardless of gender, and nobody asks questions or cocks an eye. This is truly what acceptance and openness feels like.

I wish I could bring that back to a place as stuffy and often times narrow as Sacramento.

~ by Stefani Vonne on 07/02/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
